Swing And A Miss

businesstextbookI’m taking this Intro to Business night class at a local community college here in Oakland and for three nights a week for 2.5 hours we talk business.  Well, it would be cool if we did, but it’s more of like a rambling lecture.  I’m being harsh.  I hate to be the asshole, but college courses are WAY different than community college ones.  I kinda feel like I’m in high school again.

One of my major peeves about the course is the textbook.  If it was a regular textbook things would be fine, but this one seems specifically geared towards community colleges.  Every single example in the book involves either a minority or a woman.  Hey, what about us white males?  To be fair I’m the only one in my class.  Ah well.

Secondly, the book is depressingly upbeat.  Because I think it’s directed towards community colleges, the upbeat nature of the book makes it depressing.  I’ve only read three chapters so far and I feel like each one mentions Bill Gates.  In fact, the whole book is filled with success stories about people like the Waltons or Jeff Bezos from Amazon.com.  It’s like the book is luring community college kids into a false sense of security that they too can make it big.  Makes me sad.  I wish it was more realistic.  It also doesn’t help that the instructor uses small business examples where the company makes $1,000,000.00 a year in revenue.  Seriously?  I think most of the people in the class, like myself, either are not going to start a business or it’ll be the variety that makes maybe $25,000.00 a year if they’re lucky.

As far as the title of the post, I totally bombed in class today.  The humor of the college crowd is way different than the community college  crowd.  Here’s the scenario:

The instructor had just bitched us out for ten minutes because he bet us $20 that none of us could come up with three names and numbers of people in the class with them and of course we all failed.  The lesson being we need to be networking.  So after making fun of us and using Bill Gates in an example about a fellow classmate who could unknowingly be a billionaire one day, he says that you need to make friends.

Well, in my experience, no one in class really talks to each other, even in college, much less exchange numbers.  Sure, you may have had a class with someone famous, but chances are that’s it.  So when he snickered away about how poor at networking we were, I raised my hand and decided to give him the old one-two.  “So basically what you’re saying is that we need to network in class so that instead of saying ‘I had a class with Bill Gates’ we could say ‘I had a class with Bill Gates and he was a jackass.'”

The silence was deafening.

I had expected at least one chuckle, but all I got was a blank stare from the teacher and the rest of the class who decided to find out what the asshole in their class looked like.  I guess no one jokes in community college much less talks in class.

Going to be a a great month.

1 Comment

  1. sounds like an experience in early education rather than what you’re looking for.. maybe look around at sustainable business courses? of course, they cost something more than comunity colleges, but City College in SF supposedly has some?,


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

